20 Aug 2012

Cistercian Communities in Ireland

As today is the feast of St Bernard of Clairvaux, we list below the Irish communities of the Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance (aka Trappists).

Cistercian nuns of Glencairn

Cistercian monks have communities at:

Mount St Joseph's Abbey Roscrea Co Tipperary

Mellifont Abbey Collon Co Louth

Bolton Abbey, Moone Co Kildare

Our Lady of Bethleham Abbey, Portglenone, Ballymena, Co. Antrim

Mount Melleray Abbey, Co Waterford

Dom Eamon Fitzgerald ocso
Of course on Sacred Space 102fm we always look for the Irish connection, and the current head of the worldwide Cistercian community is Dom Eamon Fitzgerald, formerly the Abbot of Mount Melleray Abbey, who was elected Abbot General of the Cistercian Order of the Strict Observance, commonly known as Trappist monks in September 2008.

No comments:

Post a Comment