9 Jan 2012

Habemus Episcopum!!!!! Limerick has a bishop!

...........well sort of!!!!!

Fr Michael in Honduras (Source: Irish Franciscans)

From Fides:

On December 30, 2011 The Holy Father Benedict XVI erected the new Diocese of La Ceiba in Honduras, with territory taken from the diocese of San Pedro Sula, making it suffragan of the Archdiocese of Tegucigalpa, and appointed Rev. Fr. Michael Lenihan, O.F.M. former Vicar General and Pastor in the Diocese of Comayagua Honduras as first Bishop of the new Diocese of La Ceiba.

Rev. Fr. Michael Lenihan, O.F.M, was born on September 22, 1951 in Abbeyfeale, in the diocese of Limerick (Ireland). After his primary and secondary studies, he entered the Franciscan novitiate in 1972, he studied philosophy at the National University of Galway, Ireland (1973-1976), and theology in Rome at the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (1976-1979), and at the Pontifical Gregorian University (1979-1980). He made his solemn Profession in the Order of Friars Minor on 17 September 1977 and was ordained a priest on July 12, 1980. He belongs to the Franciscan Province of the Friars Minor of Central America and Panama.

After ordination, he has held the following positions: 1980-1982: Director of the Spiritual College Multyfarnham, Ireland; 1982-1984: Vicar of the Convent, Wesford, Ireland; 1984-1989: Parish Vicar of the Parish of St. Francis in Gotera, Morazán, diocese of San Miguel, El Salvador; 1989-1997: Guardian and Pastor of the Parish of St. Francis in Gotera, Morazán, diocese of San Miguel, El Salvador; 1997-2000: Guardian and Parish Vicar, La Palma, Chalatenango, El Salvador; 2000-2009: Guardian and Pastor of the Parish of Santos Martires, Comayagua, Honduras; 2004-2008: Provincial Councilor of the Region of Honduras; 2001-2009: Vicar General of the diocese of Comayagua; since 2009: Guardian of the Fraternity of St. Bonaventure of the Provincial Curia of the Friars Minor and Vicar of the Parish of the Parish Inmaculada Corazón de María, Guatemala.

The new diocese of La Ceiba (nom. lat. Ceiben/sis/), includes 2 civilian Departments Atlantida and Islas de la Bahia, with 12 municipalities. It is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Tegucigalpa. San Isidro Labrador Parish Church of La Ceiba becomes the Cathedral of the new diocese.

Bishop-elect Michael will be consecrated bishop of 11th February 2012.

Ad multos annos Bishop Michael!

1 comment:

  1. The new diocese are blessed to have a man of such rare qualities and deep spirituality as Bishop Michael. He always was a gentle soul with a deep love of God and the people he served. A humble kind man that a lot of church leaders could learn from. The Lord Bless you and Keep you Bishop Michael. B.